Albania elected non-permanent member of the Security Council

11 June 202, Albania has been elected for the first time a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the period 2022-2023.
The Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Olta Xhaçka was present during the voting process. According to her, the historic decision  of the UN Security Council  is an extraordinary opportunity for Albania.
It's official! Albania is in the United Nations Security Council for 2022-2023! An historical opportunity, an amazing achievement for Albanian diplomacy! Grateful for all support, said the chief diplomat on social networks.
Minister Xhaçka stressed that  Albania's candidacy support  is the best confirmation of the respect and credibility that Albania enjoys today as a stability pillar in the region, as a security exporter in peacekeeping missions and as a stability, and constructive factor in every international forum where it has contributed.
 "The fact that we have been given such a historic opportunity is also a great responsibility. We are aware that we need to have realistic expectations of what we can achieve in the Security Council.  We are also optimistic that we can achieve a lot with a good work plan, clear objectives and serious preparation for the day when we will sit on the Security Council. 
Now that we are talking  the preparations are ongoing feverishly and we are on the verge of finalizing the team that will represent Albania. The best  diplomats from the foreign service will be selected and we have also opened a call for the best experts outside the system to be part of what we have called the dream team in the Security Council ", said the minister after the voting process.
 Albania was elected a member with the support of 175 UN member states, while 190 countries took part in the voting.  This marks the first time it has been selected for the past 65 years after her membership in the United Nations.
The United Nations Security Council is one of the most important organs of the United Nations for  maintaining peace and security between nations.
Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates were competing alone, without any other candidate  from the respective regions of the 5 countries. In order to be elected, each had to secure two-thirds of the votes of UN member states.
Candidate countries will replace the five current members: Estonia, Nigeria, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam. The mandate of the new members starts on January 1, 2022 and will serve until December 31, 2023.

Postal Address

Embasy of Albania
Diplomatic Quarter, Al Fazari Plaza, Unit No. G16
P.O.Box 94 004, Riyadh 11693

Tel / Fax

Tel. +966 11 281 6535
Fax. +966 11 281 6536
Nr. i emergjences : +966501905586



Monday to Friday
09:00 - 17:00